How to set new custom Alert and Generate Notification

Hi Expert,
I am very new to Percona, I have configured Percona for MongoDB and getting metrics. Now I want set some custom alerts on MongoDB metrics as per my project requirements and after that want to add SMTP server details for sending email notification; Similar kind of configuration I have done in standalone Prometheus but I am little confuse how configure alert.rules.yml and alertmanager.yml files for Prometheus inside Percona. Here Prometheus is running inside Docker image and I can not update these files directly.
Can you please tell me is it possible ? if possible can you please guide me or provide me documentation link so that I can go through it.
Thank you!!
Atanu

Hi Expert,
I am very new to Percona, I have configured Percona for MongoDB and getting metrics. Now I want set some custom alerts on MongoDB metrics as per my project requirements and after that want to add SMTP server details for sending email notification; Similar kind of configuration I have done in standalone Prometheus but I am little confuse how configure alert.rules.yml and alertmanager.yml files for Prometheus inside Percona. Here Prometheus is running inside Docker image and I can not update these files directly.
Can you please tell me is it possible ? if possible can you please guide me or provide me documentation link so that I can go through it.
Thank you!!
Atanu

1 Like

Hi Atanu,
You may find requested information in the next blogpost
https://www.percona.com/blog/2020/02/21/percona-monitoring-and-management-meet-prometheus-alertmanger/

1 Like

Thank you adivinho, I have gone through the URL, in that link it is mentioned that we need to configure external Alertmanager.
Here I have three confusions -
1. I have separately install Prometheus and Alertmanager, so can I use that as an external Alertmanager ?
2. How will I determine URL of external Alertmanager ?