what is the purpose of ibdata1,ib_logfile0,ib_logfile1

Hi
I’m new to mysql. In /var/lib/mysql directory I’m creating databases. I’m using InnoDB storage engine. In this directory three files namely ibdata1,ib_logfile0,ib_logfile1 created automatically. What is the use of these files and it contains any information? If I deleted these files what happens?
Any one answer for this doubt.

1 Like

Dont delete the files. Those are the files where the actual data, indexes and the innodb log are stored for all innodb databases

1 Like

If we insert records in the db, will the size of these files increase?.

Will these files affects the execution speed.

If databases r deleted will the size of these files decrease?

1 Like

Yes when the ibdata1 file is to small for the amount of data that you are trying store in it. It will grow automatically.
The ib_logfile files will continue to be the same size always, they do not grow.

The question isn’t if the files will affect the execution speed.

The quesiton is if more data in the database will affect execution speed, and the answer is, yes more data in the database will affect execution speed.
But if you have proper indexes in your tables you will not notice it that much.

No, unfortunately not.
But generally when you have a database you seldom have the situation that you need to shrink the table space.
Because often the size of a database is either growing or pretty stable in size.

1 Like