Splitting Of Tables;

Hi,

I need some help for the Splitting of tables as i’m a newbie in this field.I’ve a running application which is inserting data to some reporting tables whenever a event is generated.For some reason we are facing issues with the table as we try to run few quries it locks down the tables and all the users got affected. As it is a running application i cannt do about the design of table we are using.I want to split the data into two tables refering the date in which data is added.I want to do it on the production sever so cannt take a risk of locking the table.I want to split the data lets say before 2007 to some seperate table.

Could you please suggest how to go about as i tried it with simple query where entry time < ‘2007’ it is taking way too long which cannt be done on my server.We have about 1 million records in that table and 1 reference table which uses the same data from this table. I’ve to split both the tables.

I would really appreciate if u can help me in this.

Regards
Neo Pheonix

You should really be more specific what is structure what queries do you run what exactly happens which you do not want to happen.

Hi,

Thanx for replying.

Here are the 2 tables i want to split which are interlinked by OP_ID.

Table_1

±--------------------±-------------±-----±----±-------- ±------+
| Field | Type | Null | Key | Default | Extra |
| OP_ID | int(10) | | | 0 | |
| NUMBER | varchar(20) | YES | | NULL | |
| SET | varchar(50) | YES | | NULL | |
| SESSION_ID | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
| EVENT_NUM | int(4) | YES | | NULL | |
| REPEAT_NUM | int(4) | YES | | NULL | |
| OP_COUNT_IN_SESSION | int(4) | YES | | NULL | |
| APP_ID | varchar(25) | YES | | NULL | |
| CONTAINER | varchar(25) | YES | | NULL | |
| OP_TYPE_ID | int(3) | YES | | NULL | |
| SETKU | varchar(50) | YES | | NULL | |
| IP_ADDRESS | varchar(25) | YES | | NULL | |
| RST_TO_CLIENT | varchar(10) | YES | | NULL | |
| SERVICE_RST | varchar(10) | YES | | NULL | |