Percona - Metrics and perfs drop after migration.

Hi i’m pretty new to MySQL, and recently our company moved from the “regular” version of MySQL (5.1) to Percona.(5.6)

We have this machine for migration :

2 x 2690v3 Intel Processors (24 Cores 48 Threads)
256 GB 2133Mhz ECC memory
2xIntel SSD for System
4xMicron P420m RAID 10 for DATA (Making it 1,3TB EXT4)
10 Gbps Intel Cards (Base-T)
Ubuntu 14.04.02 LTS
5.6.23-72.1-log Percona Server (GPL), Release 72.1, Revision 0503478

We got something like :

Read 4K : 4,9GB/s
Read 16K : 6,6 GB/s

Network Troughput : 9,42Gbps

Sysbench shows something like :

OLTP test statistics: 48 threads
queries performed:
read: 22059002
write: 0
other: 3151286
total: 25210288
transactions: 1575643 (26260.09 per sec.)
deadlocks: 0 (0.00 per sec.)
read/write requests: 22059002 (367641.29 per sec.)
other operations: 3151286 (52520.18 per sec.)

Test execution summary:
total time: 60.0014s
total number of events: 1575643
total time taken by event execution: 2872.7015
per-request statistics:
min: 1.13ms
avg: 1.82ms
max: 18.27ms
approx. 95 percentile: 2.57ms

Threads fairness:
events (avg/stddev): 32825.8958/149.43
execution time (avg/stddev): 59.8479/0.00

I don’t know what your metric looks like, but, foor a noob like me, it looks solid.

Well, i guess we have some pretty good hardware down here, but so far, the App Team complains about really poor database performance compared to legacy hardware, which is strange. Old Xeons, 32GB of slower memory, only 2x10K 600Gigs Drives (Hardware raid with BBU and 256MB of cache).

We tuned the server accordingly to the parameters given by percona’s tuner.

But it might be related to something else.

In fact i’m beggining to think that there is a link between the change of version has more to do than the server itself.

Any clues ?

Have a nice day.

Hi NovemberMike;