Invalid INSERT statement syntax in binlog

I’m testing out some new hardware with the latest and greatest software versions prior to migrating a current Percona 5.1 environment across to it. However, I’m running into some real weirdness.

I have a master/slave replication setup, both on identical hardware, and I’m using the sysbench utility’s OLTP benchmark to test things out. I’m running the benchmark on the master for 5 - 10 minutes at a time and watching the slave to see how far out of sync it goes and how fast it catches up.

A few minutes into the test, the slave’s SQL thread dies (Slave_SQL_Running = No) and the Last_SQL_Error shows a clearly invalid SQL statement as follows:

Somehow, a colon has snuck into the primary key value (4:389).

So, thinking there was some corruption in the transfer to the slave, I login to the master, dump the binlog involved, and lo an behold the same invalid syntax is there:

$ mysqlbinlog us-db01-bin.000030|grep INSERT |grep 4:389

INSERT INTO sbtest values(4:389,0,’ ',‘aaaaaaaaaaffffffffffrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeyyyyyyyyyy’)

OK, this has got me confused. How could an statement with invalid syntax get into the binlog? Just to be sure, I tried out the statement on the master, and as expected it failed with the same syntax error it did on the slave.

Searching through the same binlog there seem to be three or four more similar offending statements further down amongst the tens of thousands of valid ones so even if I skip this statement, it’s going to fail again very soon.

Ideas anyone?

Environment is:

• CentOS 6.3 x86_64
  • Both master and slave running in KVM VMs on our own hardware
  • Percona 5.5.25a-rel27.1.277.rhel6 (from the Percona yum repository) as follows:
    Percona-Server-client-55.x86_64 5.5.25a-rel27.1.277.rhel6 @percona
    Percona-Server-server-55.x86_64 5.5.25a-rel27.1.277.rhel6 @percona
    Percona-Server-shared-55.x86_64 5.5.25a-rel27.1.277.rhel6 @percona