How to import large datasets

Hi,
I’m very new to mysql performance and have some questions regarding a project I’m working on.

I guess before I say anything, the project is an e-commerce store.

I have two tables right now I’m concerned about:

1. Product Information - 1 record per product, contains name of product, description, etc.
    There will be roughly 3million records in here (myisam at the moment)

2. Inventory Table - quantity information for current products at different warehouses (innodb)
    There will be rougly 1.5million records in here

I receive a ~1gb flat file (~3.5m records) from my distributor every 3 days which contains all the product information and another flatfile ~200mb from my distributor every day that contains the entire inventory (~1.5 records) at the distributor’s warehouses.

These flat files aren’t merely updates though, they contain all the data over again, just with modifications or new records. So I’m struggling with the best way to import this data quickly, and so the import doesnt affect the front end shoppers…

I first tried to tackle this problem by just writing scripts that performed LOAD DATA INFILE REPLACE… . It took about 22 minutes to import 3.3million records into my products table, but my table was locked the entire time. I tried adding the CONCURRENT option but it still was locked from read queries (I was researching and there was a bug report saying CONCURRENT was broken in 5.0.19-5.0.30?). I guess I’ll just make sure the server I put this on doesnt have that bug, or should I be doing this whole thing a different way?