Cluster Unable to configure SSL

Ho together, I’m quite new to Percona SQL clusters.

I’ve configured it using the latest documentation at https://docs.percona.com/percona-xtradb-cluster/8.0/configure.html

This is my environment:
3x Debian 11 servers with latest updates
Percona 8 from it’s PPA’s (as of the documentation)

Joining the newly created cluster fails, when trying to start mysql on node 1 manually it also fails.
mysqld --help --verbose | grep ‘log-error’ | tail -1 shows this error:

[ERROR] [MY-000000] [WSREP] ssl-ca, ssl-cert, and ssl-key must all be defined to use encrypted mode traffic. Unable to configure SSL. Must shutdown.
[ERROR] [MY-010119] [Server] Aborting

This is the nodes configuration:

[client]
socket=/sql/mysqld.sock

[mysqld]
server-id=1
datadir=/sql
socket=/sql/mysqld.sock
log-error=/sql/error.log
pid-file=/sql/mysqld.pid

ssl-ca=/sql/certs/ca.pem
ssl-cert=/sql/certs/server-cert.pem
ssl-key=/sql/certs/server-key.pem

binlog_expire_logs_seconds=604800

binlog_format=ROW
wsrep_provider_options=“socket.ssl_key=/sql/certs/server-key.pem;socket.ssl_cert=/sql/certs/server-cert.pem;socket.ssl_ca=/sql/certs/ca.pem”

wsrep_provider=/usr/lib/galera4/libgalera_smm.so
wsrep_cluster_address=gcomm://192.168.1.10,192.168.1.12,192.168.1.12
wsrep_slave_threads=8
wsrep_log_conflicts
wsrep_node_address=192.168.1.10
wsrep_cluster_name=pxc-cluster
wsrep_node_name=node-1
wsrep_sst_method=xtrabackup-v2

innodb_autoinc_lock_mode=2

pxc_strict_mode=ENFORCING

[sst]
encrypt=4
ssl-key=/sql/server-key.pem
ssl-ca=/sql/ca.pem
ssl-cert=/sql/server-cert.pem

Anything i’ve done wrong?
Thank you guys!

1 Like

Did you create these? These are not automatically created for you since you have specified a location. MySQL will only create them automatically if you do NOT specify their location.