Backup: "Can't create/Write to file "F:\etc. etc.....

Hi all thanks for being there.

Status: Me - I am an absolute beginner - started 2 days ago!!

Apologies: For probably a question you folk have seen TIME AND TIME AND TIME again!! But for me this is only DAY ONE so excuse it please…

Programs involved: MySQL server version 5.0.22
Navicat Trial version 7.2.12 (Trial)
Navicat is a MySQL database server administration and development tool.

Both installed with all defaults and no database creation or otherwise by me at all. So here is a beginner just going in and “pressing buttons” to see how they respond.

Problem: Chose the already existing MySQL database which houses the help files. Went to New Backup and attempted to make backup. Error message came up and I have uploaded an image for you to see. It reads “Can’t create/write to file: F:\Windows\Temp#sql-654-0.myd” Error code 17.

What I did: Investigate the temp directory and found it had actually created the file. However when I returned to Navicat I could not continue because of this error. I had to return to the temp directory where I deleted this file. Then Navicat could be used again to locate databases. Have repeated this about 6 times since with similar messages.

Contacted Navicat who replied today and gave me a link to:

[URL=“http://MySQL Bugs: #9551: SHOW commands fail”]MySQL Bugs: #9551: SHOW commands fail

Went there and as you can imagine (with my 2 days experience) - yes you have guessed - I had not got a clue as to what was being discussed.

My observations: It just seems to me that this type of error message has been going around is this form for about 2 years - well a long time anyway!

If I cannot backup a completely new situation simply, what hope is there for me to make progress. So that is why I have come here because otherwise I just do not know where to turn.