The Effect of WSREP_ON

I have a 3 node, multi-master cluster  that maintains a multi-tenant database design.  Each customer has their own database / schema that contains their data.   I have tens of thousands of customers and therefore tens of thousands of databases.  I perform daily backups each night to keep a snapshot of each users’ data for a 2 week period.  This is necessary because it is not uncommon for customers to accidentally delete data from their database and I occasionally need to restore a user’s data from one of the snapshots.  The data is quite critical so the ability to be able to do this on a user-by-user basis is necessary.   

I’ve experimented with the best way to perform the daily backup that is the most efficient, least intrusive, and provides the most practical way to restore a database from the backup when necessary.  I’ve settled on using mysqldump as it provides the most practical way of storing the backups for recovery and also, surprisingly, seems to be the fastest for backing up databases one at a time.  The sql script produced can be loaded back into a running server without any downtime for other customers.  The only problem is that the actual mysqldump process locks tables which can cause a disruption to the customer who’s data is being backed up at that time.  

The best solution to this problem would be to detach the node that the backup is being generated from from the cluster temporarily and then rejoin the cluster once the backup is complete.  However, I’m not sure how to do this.  After some research it appears that setting the WSREP_ON to OFF on the node would be the ideal solution. This is something that could be added to the backup scripts to automatically detach the node temporarily.  However, in experimenting with this variable, setting it to OFF seemed to have no effect at all on the node or the cluster.  

1.  Is WSREP_ON usable?
2. If so, if OFF the correct value?