xtrabackup everyday backup -- how to?

Hello experts,
I am Avinash.
I am very very new to MySQL and Percona xtrabackup utility.
I have recently been hired as a MySQL DBA. I come from Oracle background. i started liking it :-).
I am working on MySQL 5.7.14 Community Server configured on RHEL7.

Everyday logical dumps are scheduled, using mysqldump --single-transaction (only for InnoDB tables).
No other schemas are backed up.
I was searching for an option for configuring physical hot backups. I came across xtrabackup utility and I got it installed and configured as per the Percona Documentation provided. I have yet to complete the documentation :-).

I configured the my.cnf file for xtrabackup by adding target_dir option under [xtrabackup] section there.
[xtrabackup]
target_dir = /mysql_57_backup
port = 3306
socket = /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock

I back the MySQL schemas using the following command:
xtrabackup -uapawar -p********* --backup --target-dir=/mysql_57_backup -P 3306 -H localhost -S /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock

My first doubt/confusion

1. While going through Ronald Bradford’s Backup and Recovery book, I read/understood that, to be able to have point in time recovery of the database, I must turn on log_bin, sync_binlog and it’s a good practice to set innodb_flush_log_at_trx_commit to 1. I did it. Am I correct here?

My question about the physical backups is as follows:
I backup the database using above command, on let’s say 16th Feb. It was successful.
xtrabackup: Transaction log of lsn (555871761) to (555871770) was copied.
160218 18:39:57 completed OK!

But when I use the same command next day let’s say on the 17th, I get
xtrabackup: Can’t create/write to file ‘/mysql_57_backup/xtrabackup_logfile’ (Errcode: 17 - File exists)
xtrabackup: error: failed to open the target stream for ‘xtrabackup_logfile’.