Nagios not listing all databases in the respective regions - pmp-check-aws-rds.py

Hello everyone!

I have installed percona plugins, put the credentials on /etc/boto.cfg and /etc/nagios3/.boto, but the script only show the database at US Virginia, how can I display my databases at “São Paulo” zone?

I am new to administrate percona scripts, I appreciate any help.

Regards,

Ricardo

The existing plugin can’t connect to the specific region as it does not use connect_to_region() function, so the listing shouldn’t work. The fix must be appropriate here. Can you check if you can get the stats using the script for the specific DBInstanceIdentifier taken from AWS panel?

Hello weber,

First, thank you for your help.

The plugin pmp-check-aws-rds just display one dbinstance (I am using -l to list all), on Virginia, but I have others dbinstances on São Paulo, Ireland, Tokyo… That is the problem :confused:

When I try to check the dbinstance, displayed the erro “No DB instance “dbinstance” found on your AWS account.”

But when I use [url]http://exchange.nagios.org/directory/Plugins/Operating-Systems/*-Virtual-Environments/Others/Check_AWS_CloudWatch_metrics/details[/url]
seems everything fine, and I can list all of dbinstances. I am using the same key for both plugin.

I put the key on /etc/boto.cfg file, example:

[Credentials]
aws_access_key_id = THE_KEY
aws_secret_access_key = THE_KEY2

Regards,

Ricardo

I realize this is an old thread but I came across this via Google while trying to solve this exact problem so I figured I’d post a solution just in case anyone else runs across this thread as I did.

First, I don’t know which is more broken, boto or pmp-check-aws-rds.py, but here is my solution:

1. Use the most recent version of boto (2.38.0 at the time I’m writing this).
  2. Being able to set the “Default” region in the boto.cfg file is a lie. Do not bother with this unless you check the config manually
  3. Make the following changes to pmp-check-aws-rds.py: