Poor Galera performance

Hi,

I’m new to Galera, however I was able to setup 3 node cluster
(using MariaDB or Percona). My problem is that when I go from single node to Galera (for example
single node with wsrep* in my.cnf) performance have decreased about 10 fold (without wsrep node
1000% faster).
What may be wrong with my Galera setup ?
thank you,
Sergey

Hi Sergey,

Can you post your my.cnf/wsrep.cnf configurations?

–Dave

Of course. I forgot to say - this slow down only for write queries. Galera reading performance is good. In production environment I have good hardware (Xeon cpu, RAID and so on). I made experiments on Virtual machines (usual Celeron CPU, SATA HDD) and have found the same slow down at transition from stand-alone server to Galera.

[client]
port = 3306
socket = /var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock

[mysqld_safe]
#nice = 0

[mysqld]
#CLUSTER
wsrep_provider=/usr/lib/galera/libgalera_smm.so
wsrep_provider_options=“gcache.size=2G; gcache.page_size=1G;gcs.fc_limit = 256; gcs.fc_factor = 0.99;”
wsrep_slave_threads= 32
innodb_doublewrite=1
query_cache_size=0
query_cache_type=0
wsrep_node_name=“Gandalf”
#wsrep_node_incoming_address=10.0.0.1
#wsrep_sst_receive_address=10.0.0.1
innodb_locks_unsafe_for_binlog=1
wsrep_cluster_address=gcomm://10.0.0.1,10.0.0.6,10.0.0.3
binlog_format=ROW
auto_increment_offset = 1
auto_increment_increment = 1
wsrep_auto_increment_control = 0
default_storage_engine=InnoDB
innodb_autoinc_lock_mode=2
wsrep_node_address=10.0.0.1
wsrep_sst_method=xtrabackup-v2
wsrep_cluster_name=DB_CLUSTER
wsrep_sst_auth=“sstuserroot:842655”
#wsrep_sst_method=rsync
wsrep_replicate_myisam=1

#GENERAL
user = mysql
pid-file = /var/run/mysqld/mysqld.pid
port = 3306
basedir = /usr
datadir = /var/lib/mysql
tmpdir = /tmp
lc-messages-dir = /usr/share/mysql
skip-name-resolve
default_time_zone=‘+04:00’
collation-server = utf8_general_ci
init-connect=‘SET NAMES utf8;’
#init-connect=‘SET GLOBAL sql_mode=“”;’
#init-connect=‘SET SESSION sql_mode=“”;’