Not the answer you need?
Register and ask your own question!

Unable to fetch information about flushing

Hi,

I am new to PMM and I am trying to troubleshoot my database redo log usage, checkpoint age and InnoDB flushing.

I have installed PMM Server 2 in a docker container and connected it to a remote MySQL server, running MariaDB 10.5 on another container, where I created the required user with the permissions as per documentation states.

Most of MySQL metrics are fetched without issues, however for the ones relating to flushing, I only get "No data", as on the following screenshot:

I am not an expert with PMM but tried to explore that chart and see it uses "mysql_info_schema_innodb_metrics_buffer_buffer_flush_adaptive_total_pages". By the name I suppose it should be getting data from information_schema.INNODB_METRICS, by name "buffer_flush_adaptive_total_pages", which I can fetch from my DB:

[code]MariaDB [information_schema]> select * from innodb_metrics WHERE name='buffer_flush_sync_total_pages' \G;

*************************** 1. row ***************************

NAME: buffer_flush_sync_total_pages

SUBSYSTEM: buffer

COUNT: 1763445

MAX_COUNT: 1763445

MIN_COUNT: NULL

AVG_COUNT: 2988

COUNT_RESET: 1763445

MAX_COUNT_RESET: 1763445

MIN_COUNT_RESET: NULL

AVG_COUNT_RESET: 2988

TIME_ENABLED: 2020-09-02 21:47:25

TIME_DISABLED: NULL

TIME_ELAPSED: 6539

TIME_RESET: NULL

ENABLED: 1

TYPE: set_owner

COMMENT: Total pages flushed as part of sync batches

1 row in set (0.001 sec)[/code]

I do not know how to proceed with troubleshooting it, could someone please advise?

Thanks! 😃

Best Answer

Answers

• PeterPeter Percona CEO Percona Moderator Role

Hi,

My suggestion to troubleshoot data capture would be to select graph and press X or navigate to Explore Mode

This will show you what formula is being graphed and when you can see in Advanced Data Exploration Dashboard whenever this metric is being captured