pt-table-checksum connect to a slave without IP connection.

Hi all, I’m pretty new to the MySQL world on Linux but I like it a lot !!

I have a little problem and I’m not sure how I can get to make the tools work, let me explain my setup …

We have 6 MySQL Masters server that are hosted with a public IP in 6 different places and we have 1 server at our office that acts as a Slave for ALL Masters in 6 different Dockers, so it’s like if we had 6 servers to act as Slave. The connection is made FROM the Slave TO the Master as we CAN’T connect to the IP of the SLAVES in their respective DOCKER … so we use the mysql.sock socket to connect to the MySQL in each DOCKER to send them MySQL commands and it’s working really well, the SLAVES are listening to the MASTERS and everything works but … I want to use pt-table-checksum to check data integrity on my slaves, but I cant connect to their IP as they are in DOCKERS, how can I connect to the slaves from the MASTERS if I can’t have an IP to give them ? Will I have to set a fixed IP on each DOCKER and then map a port for each MySQL DOCKER on the host where they are ? Someone have implemented that kind of setup before ? I have a mysql.sock for each of the MySQL in each Docker and I connect directly to the MySQL using these mysql.sock, can the Master connect that way too ?

The Percona tools are installed on all Masters and only on the host where the Slaves are, but not in each Docker … Can it work that way or not ? I can pass SQL commands directly inside the Dockers using the MySQL socket from the host to the MySQL inside the Dockers.

All helps will really be appreciated,

Thank you very much !!

Hi Eric,

Not sure If I understand your setup fully but did you tried --recursion-method of pt-table-checksum ? You can check for details here http://www.percona.com/doc/percona-toolkit/2.2/pt-table-checksum.html#cmdoption-pt-table-checksum–recursion-method