| Variable_name | Value |
±---------------------±----------+
| innodb_log_file_size | 104857600 |
±---------------------±----------+
1 row in set (0.02 sec)

Also /var/lib/mysql

-rw-rw---- 1 mysql mysql 104857600 Nov 6 12:03 ib_logfile0
-rw-rw---- 1 mysql mysql 104857600 May 21 2012 ib_logfile1

I understand the log file is reached its maximum allocated size. I want to know if i delete it simply by “rm -rf ib_logfile0” and "rm -rf “ib_logfile0” will be any impact to the mysql functionality. Kindly advice.

I am very new to mysql, stuck with one issue, our sos berlin jobscheduler is not running due to mysql issue. Please help me.

Thanks in Advance!
Bala…

Hi krishnanhcl;

You should not have to touch/delete those files; MySQL handles all the logic it needs to read and write from those files; they never “fill up” in the way you are thinking. The innodb_log_file_size variable controls the size of those files; meaning if you set it to 512MB, then each of those files will automatically be 512MB, and will remain that way.

Removing the ib_logfiles from a running server is likely to result in data loss and/or corruption depending on how lucky or unlucky you are. Then when MySQL restarts (if it restarts), it will re-create those files. So do not do that.

What is the actual problem you are seeing with your application related to MySQL? Is there an error in the MySQL logs?

-Scott

Dear Scott,

Thanks a lot for your reply!

We have SOS Berlin Job Scheduler instance in our production environment for which we use MySQL database. when we stop and start scheduler using script in cmd line we found it is not coming up instead, it through below error.

"// 2014-12-17 05:35:59.717 Job Scheduler -id=jsxprd host=(removed) port=4007